Uncategorized

Cozy Craze

For Christmas this year I decided to make each of my coworkers a hand knit monogrammed coffee cozy. The finished results of two months of work were gorgeous! But if I never use the word “cozy” again, that’s fine by me.

20161221_122705.jpg(There was one more K, but it wasn’t finished at the time of this picture)

For the cozies I used I Love This Yarn in Glacier, Pistache, Rosy Cheeks, and Medium Blue. For the embroidery I used the same brand in White. I truly, truly do love this yarn. It’s so soft, but I did find that it tended to split while being worked. I read once that yarn has a “right end” and a “wrong end”, so maybe I started at the wrong end. Or maybe that’s all a load of codswallop, who knows.

I did a lot of tweaking to this pattern. I started with THIS pattern from Socialknitworking, but after making a few I found they hugged the coffee mug too tightly, there were obvious lines from where the DPNs changed, and the decreases didn’t line up well.

I tried using size 6 circular needles and size 7 DPNs, but ended up with the best result using  a size 7 set of circular needles, using a size 8 DPN for binding off. This change eliminated problems one and two. For the third, I changed the K2tog at the end of the first round to a SSK, and replaced the SSK in round two with a K2tog. Switching the decreases but keeping them in the same position made the decrease line look neater and lay better.

Before I started the next step, I blocked all the cozies. I soaked them in water over night, but instead of laying them flat and pinning, I put them on the travel mugs I was making them for and let them dry into shape that way. To monogram my 6 cozies I just used an embroidery needle, a duplicate stitch technique I learned a few years ago, and a letter chart.

To do the duplicate stitch, you bring the needle threaded with your desired color of yarn up from the back through the knit stitch BELOW the stitch you want to duplicate. Then you bring the needle through the back of the stitch ABOVE the stitch you want to duplicate, and bring the needle back in through the hole in the front of the stitch you started in. I’ve found it’s easiest to work from the bottom up because it lays flatter.

 

Leave a Reply

